"Helping people who help people"

Moments of Failure

I’ve been having a lot of these lately.  In fact in the last 10 minutes I found two huge whoopsies.  I’m trying to figure out whether the failure stories make sense to non techies.  But suffice to say I sometimes feel like shouting, “do as I say, NOT AS I DO!”

I am a “do it yourselfer.”  We had two professional websites and could not have done it otherwise.  But then I learned Dreamweaver, a great program webmasters use and non-techies can learn to make your own website updates.  The problem is being your own workerbee and having a level of impatience that makes it hard to take the time to test out changes.  I suppose two small kids and multiple jobs also make it hard to concentrate.  Unfortunately even if you have a webmaster, they may not know what is failing or may not really understand the role of a client/therapist and how to best use your website. (I ran into a therapist website the other day that make you CREATE AN ACCOUNT to even use the contact form.  Wowsers!  That’s not good at all.)

I am still going to say, with all the ways websites can FAIL (because of the user or webmaster), it really behooves you to have your website visible on your website.  Imagine 5, 10, or 20 people trying to use your Contact form and getting an error?  You’d never know, they would move on, assuming you are on vacation or just not a good responder.  Plus it is really common that someone mistypes their email address so even if you wanted to contact them, you can’t.

Leave a Reply

