"Helping people who help people"

Blogs as your only website

I’ve had a lot of thoughts on blogs vs websites, and it was finally cinched upon confirmation of what I thought was true.

First, let me explain one thing.  There are two categories of blogs. The free ones, which you can tell because your blog name always ends in the name of the company, like myblog.WORDPRESS.COM or myblog.BLOGSPOT.com  They are free and come with some “risks.”  The biggest risk is the blogcompany can chose, or accidently, shut you down.  They officially own all the material.  I know a young entreprenuer who managed to make some good cash when she gathered quite a following planning her wedding.  The week before her big day, she went to her blog and it was *GONE.*  Vanished.  Adios.  A year or more of blog posts, companies who paid her to have an ad…  Needless to say she learned the hard way that unless it’s casual, you should consider the  OTHER type of blog, which is a HOSTED blog.

A hosted blog basically means that your blog posts are saved on a server (plain language, it’s saved and safe – techie people keep it secure on a computer and there is no way Google or WordPress could ever shut you down.)  You also have your own WEBSITE name. No extra long name.

This blog is the free version. My www.ThomasConsultation.com is a hosted site, so I pay $100/year (actually get it free using some space my father in law has…but I digress.)

There is a lot of nuance to each version, reasons to do either,  but I have just confirmed something important.

POSTS, ie each “entry” you write, are DATED. That’s the point of a blog!   Scrolling, updated stuff instead of a website that never changes.

The problem?  A ton of what you want to share is TIMELESS.  So by adding a date/time to each post, you are potentially losing people who think, “why should I read your stuff that is a year old, or four years old?”  I have four year old articles on my websites,but my readers have no way of knowing they weren’t written yesterday.  So it feels more fresh.  They aren’t asked to consider the age of the information and whether it applies today.  With the internet moving at lighting speed, I can get annoyed at something written 6 HOURS ago if it’s not updated with the latest info.  What would a client think about material written five years or even five months ago? 

For a therapist this is so important if you have, or are considering, going “frugal” by using a blog as your website. You don’t want to have general information with dates on it.  And when you name your posts, even if you know something about search engine optimization, your blog entry “title” will also have a date attached to it.   This means if you wrote a great title, you can’t easily reference it unless you remember the date you wrote it! I can very easily spill out articles to journalists, or on twitter, or in emails, letting people know pages on my website I think they’d find useful. 

Put even more simply.  There is ALWAYS a cost to free or cheap.

Comments on: "Blogs as your only website" (4)

  1. For most up-to-date information you have to pay a quick visit internet and on world-wide-web I found this web
    page as a most excellent website for newest updates.

  2. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a
    really well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark
    it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I’ll certainly return.

  3. Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your next post
    thank you once again.

  4. With havin so much content do you ever run into any
    issues of plagorism or copyright infringement? My website has a lot of unique content I’ve
    either written myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my
    permission. Do you know any methods to help reduce content from being ripped off?

    I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

