"Helping people who help people"

I’ll share one more testimonial that from the Prepare/Enrich folks, who took me to lunch to pick my brain!  It was fun and I’m very glad to help such an important group. 

 

“Elizabeth gave us a fresh perspective on what our social media presence can be.  She shared insights that encouraged us to take further intentional steps in the growing mediums of Twitter and Facebook.  Elizabeth’s suggestions and help will undoubtedly get us further down the digital road.” – Prepare/Enrich, of Life Innovations
  
Having read thousands of therapy profiles and websites, I am always interested in the dilemma of a profession whose very nature is confidentiality.  How can you express the sentiments clients send along without either over-stating yourself, keeping the client confidentiality, or frankly coming across like you are just making up stuff because you can’t give real names.
 
The testimonials I like most that I’ve seen are very unique, very short one liners.  They’re used less as “I’m so great” and more as a way for a therapist to describe something about how they do treatment, how they are perceived by clients, etc.  Examples I’ll use from what people have told me about myself, that I could try to use to describe my unique proposition in the world:
 
“Elizabeth is so patient!  She keeps going until you really understand something.”
 
“Elizabeth has so much energy and passion that you can’t help but get excited and motivated yourself!”
 
“Elizabeth as an intuitive understanding of what she’s talking about which I don’t yet have, so even a few bits of advice go a long way in moving forward.”
 
Of course testimonials are self-selected, right?  But they should somehow share something unique about YOU, not about therapy in general.  Saying you’re open-minded, tolerant, and patient may not really help your case since those are already expected of your role as a therapist.  In this sense the last testimonial I just created may break my own rule.  Consultants SHOULD have an intuitive understanding of what they teach.  But the first two – techie people with patience and techie people with energy are more unusual and worth noting, especially because my audience, you, often feel so overwhelmed, scared, clueless, or frustrated at the gap between your professional skills and your tech skills.  The testimonials help bridge the gap between your expectations of who I might be, and what other people like you have actually experienced with me.
Think about your ideal client.  What would impress them?  That you move fast?  That you’ve got a deep understanding of their issue?  That you are able to immediately put clients at ease?  That you are able to be funny?
You don’t need testimonials if you have good marketing language.  And by avoiding testimonials you avoid the oft-considered, “is that a real testimonial??”

Leave a Reply

