"Helping people who help people"

I’ve been pondering this question a lot ever since talking to a person-who-shall-remain-nameless, but whom I deeply respect.  This person, let’s call her Angie, feels that for the most part Facebook status updates and blogs demonstrate that someone really does think they must be “all that.”  I run into therapist after therapist, including the one I’m MARRIED TO, who feels they have nothing to say and would never want a blog.  Part of it is that sense of a blogger being all-important, or worthy of someones time.  I take a different view.

To explain my blog journey, I’ll go back 4.5 years.  I had a blog 5 years ago but had no idea what to say.  My life wasn’t very exciting.  Wake up.  Go to work.  Do stuff nobody cares about (HR analyst and payroll testing.)  Come home.  Meet husband after he was done with work.  Eat dinner.  Watch TV or play on the computer.  Go to bed.  Seriously, what on earth would I possibly have to say on a blog?

But then my baby came.  It was exactly 4 weeks post-birth and he had found his fist to suck on.  It was one of those amazingly GLORIOUS moments as a parent.  A sign your baby is growing, learning, and developementally doing well.  I also feel tremendous (hormone-induced) saddness that he’s so tiny he needs oral comfort and that his fist sucking was partly self-soothing and not just entertainment.  But even in my rollercoaster of emotions, I recognized how unbelievably silly the entire thing was to the vast majority of people I knew.  It was definitely an incident not worthy of emailing everyone about.  I had been warned about the moms who think every photo they take is amazing and they fill up the inboxes of all their friends and coworkers who really would be happy with one photo every 6 months or so.  Or maybe less.

The delicate dance of knowing that moment was really important to me, and pretty mindless to others put me in a quandry, until I remembered I had that blog!  Wow, now I had a place I could post pictures, write about all my emotions, my life, my baby.  And best yet, I would just have to give my family and friends ONE email with a link to the blog and then THEY could chose to read it or not!  I was not “throwing myself in their faces.”  I was letting them pull the information, if and when they wanted it.  What an awesome solution for a new mom.  I did have to explain the concept of a blog to a lot of the baby boomer relatives, but once they got it, they thoroughly enjoyed reliving their past lives as moms of new babies.  I got to hear cool stories from relatives about their experiences that I would never otherwise get, halfway across the country, rarely seeing them in person, and certaintly not in constant email contact.

One of my favorite blogs was “STAY IN….STAY OUT!” when there was a heated battle going on to keep my then almost 2 year old son in his clothes, while desperately to get my daughter OUT of my womb as my due date approached.  We had to literally tape his footed PJ’s with the ends of the tape on his back.  Otherwise we’d find him buck naked, wet, poopy, a total mess.  And then I was desperate to get my girl out of me, in total misery being pregnant. (I vomited all 9 months with both kids and let me tell you, it is very painful at the end.)

My blog posts would have the effect of making my friends and family howl with laughter, empathize, or just feel more connected to what was going on.  I even got a call once from my father in law wondering if we were OK because I hadn’t blogged in a long time!  In a blog I am able to say things I might not say on the phone, in person or by email.  There is an immediacy to a blog post where even if you read the post 2 years later, you get wrapped up into the moment the blog was being written.  I have no baby books but I have my blog.  People who know me say I blog like I talk, so they really do feel like they’re keeping up with me.

I will end here and continue in another post about blogging as a therapist or educator.  I first wanted to let some of you see a side of blogging you may not have exposure to.

Leave a Reply

