"Helping people who help people"

For all my education on websites, it is still amazing to me, as I discuss in my content training, how your website traffic will tell you a story. You may not want to hear it (nobody reads the pages you spent HOURS crafting), or you may not want it (I get a ton of therapy website template traffic even though I’m trying help people with the STUFF inside the template, namely the content and marketing OF the website.)  It’s not that I don’t want the therapy website template traffic, that’s cool, but I want people to go BEYOND the template into the website itself.  Hopefully they’ll land here and realize this is a great place to stick around!

I’m opening a can of worms with this blog, my website, and my accidently marketing (on Twitter, Minnesota AMFT newsletter and a national therapy magazine at some point in a few months.)  With that said, I am trying to figure out the best way to help with “the other stuff” that people ask me about.  This includes my opinions on taking credit cards (and the various options), hiring a webmaster or finding a website template (we do sell a great one for $99, see the Page on top of this blog for more), and all that other stuff.

One of the best ways to keep me grounded (my dad has always been a fan of sticking close to the ground, whether it’s because he was born and raised in a strong, working class family and culture, or because he’s just wired to not get too pie-in-the-sky), is my own husband.  The classic, introverted, anti-marketing guy who is trying to grow his private practice.  We’re taking baby steps and the next one is to join ANOTHER therapy directory.  He’s on Psychology Today so far.  He just wants my opinions and wants to figure out his budget.  I just want him to START, EXPERIMENT, MONITOR, then we’ll figure out if he stays or quits the new ad.  The reality is you can’t know what marketing will work or not, so you might as well (carefully and with careful monitoring) throw some money around to see what sticks!

If you’re interested in more global help, maybe on a live call with other therapists, reply to this (I won’t publish your contact info!) or email me.  I think you all have a lot to share with ME, so even comments on what works for you are great!

Leave a Reply

